• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

.32 cal. rifle accuracy

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sidewinder

32 Cal.
Reaction score
I just got a .32 caliber Pedersoli Frontier for squirrel hunting and i would like to know what kind of accuracy to expect at 35 yards ? This is my first time hunting with a muzzleloader , so any accuracy tips would be helpful . Thanks .

I have the same rifle in .36 and get a ragged hole at 25 yards off the bench and around a 1in group at 50yds with 40gr of 3F and a .018 patch.

sidewinder,
My squirrel rifle is a .32 Crockett.
I shoot off bench at 35yards at an actual
squirrel target. I am happy when I get 8 out of 10
as a head shot on a squirrel target.Off hand shots while hunting squirrel at 35yards,at least for me would be rare.I usually try to anchor my
shot,no matter whatever the distance may be.
I shoot 30 grams of fffGoex and as of late been using .32 cal ballets. I have found them to be very accurate at least in my Cricket :hmm:

Capper said:
Sounds like fun guns to shoot. There must be no recoil?

With the light loads I use for small edible game, I'm guessing it might fall somewhere between 22LR and 22WMR, if you get my drift. Snort the loads up for longer range varmint shooting, on the order of 30+ grains, and it will remind you of a 25-20 or 32-20 hivel loading. Not much at all, but you can feel the gun move a little.