• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

45 prb with 50 grains for deer?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

elbow

32 Cal.
Reaction score
Forgive me for asking but I am kind of new to this game. I have been shooting 50 grains of Pyrodex with a 440 patched round ball and it is deadly accurate my question is is this an acceptable load for whitetails and black bear? Some deer in my part of Vermont can be 200 pounds dressed. Also what would be an acceptable maximim range for deer using this load? Any help appreciated. Thanks Craig.

elbow said:
Forgive me for asking but I am kind of new to this game. I have been shooting 50 grains of Pyrodex with a 440 patched round ball and it is deadly accurate my question is is this an acceptable load for whitetails and black bear? Some deer in my part of Vermont can be 200 pounds dressed. Also what would be an acceptable maximim range for deer using this load? Any help appreciated. Thanks Craig.
I hunt with a 45 prb and use 70 grains of 3f schuetzen and it works very well. I limit my shots to under 75 yards but most are taken around 30 and it lays the smack down on big Kansas and Michigan bucks. Although 50 grains is likely more then enough I run 45 for a target load with the same gun. I would try around 70 grains and see what the performance is. Mine shoots to around the same point of impact from 10-70 yards with the powder change.