• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Accuracy vs different types of lubes???

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PeteA

36 Cal.
Reaction score
Another newbie here trying to consume and understand as much as possible.

I have a 20 year old 50 cal CVA percussion Hawken.1:48 twist. Shooting .490 rb with .015 lubed patches over a 70gr load of pyrodex. I've been to the to the range a couple times and put about 50 rounds through her, with 20 year old patches. I'm new to shooting any type of firearm but within a couple sessions and with the guidance of some of my in line shooting buddies I'm shooting 3.5 inch groups at 50 yards. Might not be up to the standards of most here but I feel pretty good about my start. So now to my question. I purchased new patches and they are different from the originals I had. In fact the company that made the original patches no longer exsists. The old patches are .015 and has a very liquid greasy lube. The new patches are Ox-Bow patches and are more of a wax like lube. Will the type of lube affect accuracy much? I also purchased a couple yards of pillow ticking and made up a batch of moose milk from a recipe on this site.

So I have a few things to try out at my next range session:
Original patches, .015 with .490 ball baseline
Ox-Bow patches, .015 with .490 ball
Pillow ticking, not sure of the thickness, could be .018 with liquid moose milk and .490 ball
Pillow ticking with Wonder Lube 1000 with .490 ball