• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Advice needed on BP measure use

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

aflatlander

32 Cal.
Reaction score
I'm new to muzzleloading and have a question about measuring the powder. When pouring the powder (Pyrodex RS) into the measure, do I fill then settle the powder by tapping the measure then topping it off or use it unsettled?

Don't matter as long as you do it the same way every time. I have measurers with swing away funnels. I fill then swing the funnel over to wipe off any excess.

Like Rebel said.. makes no difference as long as you do it the same way every time. There really is no need to be a tapper..

I have a clear see through measure with the cutting funnel top also. I just fill the measure over the top a little, then push the funnel into place cutting the charge and load away...

The reason I do not tap is.. how many taps do you give.. was that three or four.. lets see, did I tap.. Nope. the less I need to remember the better, I just cut and pour.

I would like to welcome you to the forum. Its good to have you here..