• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

After returning home from a hunt

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Boudreaux

32 Cal.
Reaction score
Ok guys, I am still new to flint locks so here is my question. Ya go hunting, Prime pan and have it at half cock. When ya get back to the truck or house and remove prime then what? Let the hammer down? leave at half cock? How do you do it?
This is assuming your going back out within the next few days.

Thanks
Boswell

I personally never leave mine loaded, but if I were going to...
I would dump the prime and brush out the pan, then stick a feather or toothpick in the touch hole. This would serve 2 purposes, one, to seal the hole against moisture or worse, a spark. Two, to remind me it is loaded. Then I would lower the frizzen and leave at half cock.
One thing to be aware of is changes in temperature, bringing a cold gun into a warm house can cause condensation leading to a damp powder charge.
Happy Hunting

I'm new too, but frizzen stall at half cock, or frizzen forward with cock forward. And yes feather in touch/flash hole with frizzen forward.

steve

In Illinois the frizzen must be open and the cock all the way down to be legal for transporting in a motor vehicle.

Not PC but a small piece of electrical tape over the touch hole keeps moisture out. :thumbsup: And it won't get broke off in the hole like a toothpick might when putting it in the case.