• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Ammo advice for a newbie

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jacj6389

Pilgrim
Reaction score
Hello folks,

Hoping someone out there can help me out. I am fairly new to muzzleloading but am interested in hunting with one. I am unsure about what about ammo can be used in my Thompson Renegade .50 cal muzzleloader.

Of course I know I can use round balls and patches, but I am also told that the pre-lubed maxi-balls are great for deer hunting. Can these be shot with my muzzleloader? What powder load would you advise for shooting a 320 gr maxi-ball?

Appreciate your helping a newbie.

Thanks,
Jim

stick with the round ball. its been killing deer for hundreds of years and won wars. get the lyman black powder book. it has all the info you will need.

My Lyman's Deerstalker with a 1:48" twist does quite well with the 320 grn Lee REAL when using a wad and 70 grns of 3F powder.

Do you/would you cast?

For deer, I dont think there's any real advantage to using conicals over patched round balls. All they do is produce more recoil.

Work up a good load with a patched ball,and you're good to.

I have killed a bunch of deer with a Maxi-ball in my T/C Hawken. They sometimes get knocked right down but they never go far if they don't drop in their tracks.

Round balls don't have the mass and can result in a long tracking job. In my opinion and experience, a big "conical" is superior to a round ball.