• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

An Expedition Against Ye Squirrels

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SgtErv

50 Cal.
Reaction score
I have not hunted in over a decade. Something about being overseas and traipsing the woods with modern weaponry just didn't jive well, so I hung it up. But then I started shooting flintlocks...

After spending last winter, spring, and summer shooting a lot, learning the weaponry of yesteryear and learning a ton from gentlemen on this forum. Early this fall I hiked around a few locations around me, Wildlife Management Areas mainly, and found a great spot called Snake Hill. There are a great many oak trees, decently mature ones at that.

So this morning I did it; loaded up the Brown Bess with a shot load that's worked well and headed out. I'll be darned - what a wonderful thing. I didn't know what I was missing all those years until I smelled the fall air out in the woods this morning.

I only saw one squirrel, and I missed him...twice...from about 30 yards out. :redface: I was using a paper cartridge packed with a little with tow wadding, 90 gr of 2F Goex and 90 gr of #4 shot. (Thanks Loyalist Dave - it works well at the range). I plan on switching to 6 or 7 shot and going to the range and seeing if I can get a little more lead in the air, so to speak.

Anyway...all in all it was a darn good day. I am just thrilled that I got back out there, and really excited to do it again.