• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Apprenticing to a master/learning to build longrifles

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PA Prof

32 Cal.
Reaction score
Due to her getting laid off and hired downstate, Mrs. PA Prof and I are pulling up the stakes and moving to the vicinity of Shippensburg, PA (not too far from Carlisle and Gettysburg). I've been shooting flintlocks for a few years now and am almost finished my first kit, which is a Kentucky pistol .54 cal from Pedersoli.

I went to Dixon's last year and was amazed at the size and enthusiasm of the community. For some time I've been thinking about learning how to build traditional PA longrifles from scratch or close to it, and since we're moving to one of the heartlands of the trade it seems like a good time to try to find a master willing to take on a part time apprentice or simply a school that can teach me. I've done okay with my first kit but think I could really use the guidance of someone who knows what they are doing. Does anyone have any ideas on how to go about this or who to start by talking to? Any wisdom is greatly appreciated. :grin:

If you have been to Dixons you have been to the best place to start. Go again and ask! :hmm: :hmm:

You could give Fort Chambers Shop,3292 Blackgap Rd. Chambersburg,a call 717 263-2223
You may want to post your question on this site .