• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

best powder

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm new to the blackpowder scene, only been in it about 4-5 months. I have a wooden stock cva Bobcat, (put the wooden stock on myself, it's a cva plainsman stock, but with a dremel motor-tool, anything is possible,) and a cva Buckhorn Magnum inline....been using pyrodex rs, but have been hearing alot about Goex. Is Goex as user friendly as I've heard? I thought black powder was messy and left alot of fouling....I know Pyrodex is a pain, smelly, leaves alot of fouling, but if Goes is as good or better, and it's cheaper, I'd just change over....
any opinions would be greatly appreciated.

Goex black powder is a great product.
In my opinion it cleans easier and is much more reliable than any black powder substitute.
I use Goex 3f in all of my rifles and pistol. I shoot both .50 and .54 caliber.

HD

I have used Triple 7 in my CVA Plainsman, with 15 grains of ffffg down the barrel first as a primer and then more ffffg in the pan.

Triple 7 has very little fouling, even with a black powder primer and is very easy to clean up.

BUT...

Even with a primer down the barrel it is difficult to ignite and has frequent misfires and hang fires. Even when it shoots well, there is a noticeable delay between the flash and the bang.

I now use Goex ffg with a 4f primer in the pan. I don't use 777. The barrel gets fouled and cleanup is messier. But I am also shooting tighter groups and having fewer misfires.