• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Breaking in a new Lyman Plains Pistol

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fenders

32 Cal.
Reaction score
I am very new to ML rifles, and have zero experience with A ML pistol. I have a new Lyman .50 cal pistol ordered. I will read the instructions of course, but am curious if anyone has advice to offer while I attempt to dial it in for accuracy. Recommended powder charge, ball, patch etc? My markmanship skills will need practice for sure, I'm not a half bad shot with a rifle, but a pistol will be a challenge for sure, based on my military experiences with a .45 and 9mm.

What is a reasonable accuracy expectation for this pistol at 25 yards?

:wink: There is nothing to do to "break-in" your new Lyman pistol. Outside of a clean up and barrel swab, remove the nipple and check for obstructions, Replace the nipple with some anti-seize compound. The Lyman manual will suggest a set of loads from lowest to the maximum---choose one in the middle range load it up and enjoy. As far as 25 yard accuracy---not to worry it's not a bench rest gun! Pistol shooting is an art in itself and must be practiced, try two handing it and/or benching it for your first attempts. If your range permits, set your targets at 15 yards and proceed up to the 25 yard mark slowly.---Enjoy..... :v "Doc"