• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Brown bess lock problem?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DJ33

32 Cal.
Reaction score
I've got a jap. brown bess. When I squeeze the trigger to let the hammer back down out of full cock it stops at half cock. I have to give it a good push to ease it all the way down. There is no problem when I shoot it, just if I try to ease it ahead. I just started shooting so I don't know to much about this stuff. Is this common? Is this going to lead to problems? Is there a fix??? Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

You probably already know this, but remember that when you are easing the hammer down you have to keep preasure on the trigger until the hammer travels past the half cock notch position on the tumbler. And welcome to the world of BP shooting.

Va.Manuf.06 said:
You probably already know this, but remember that when you are easing the hammer down you have to keep preasure on the trigger until the hammer travels past the half cock notch position on the tumbler. And welcome to the world of BP shooting.
Let me add, that's because there is no fly in a military lock that would normally block the half cock notch. You have to hold the sear nose up high enough to travel over the notch with out falling in.

PATrapper said:
When I squeeze the trigger to let the hammer back down out of full cock it stops at half cock. I have to give it a good push to ease it all the way down.