• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

caliber selection and meat damage

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MattC

40 Cal.
Reaction score
I was going to ask this in the .40 vs .45 topic, but decided to start a new one.

I am fairly new to hunting, but I read everything I can get my hands on. I have read that smaller, faster centerfire cartridges, like the .270 or .25-06, will do more meat damage to deer, antelope, etc, than will bigger and slower cartridges, like the .45/.70 or the like.

Can anybody comment on how this phenomena might apply to mz calibers? I've read here about guys using all different calibers on deer size game, but I don't recall any discussion of damage.

Dead is dead, but if one caliber destroys meat...

.50 or .54 round ball doesn't destroy much meat. Maybe 1" around the ball channel/hole down through to the exit hole. Very little compared to a centerfire.

a .690 round ball damages comparable to a 12 gauge slug. There is noticable brusing for a couple inches around the hole.

The slower balls punch through without the dynamic release of hydrostatic shock that the higher sectional density bullets impart. Which is also why vital shots should be taken over neck or bone shots. Use round balls like arrows - go for hemmorage if you can't count on stunning the animal.

Though I have had a couple bucks drop where they stood with round balls that clipped the bottom edge of the spine. That works, too. ;-)