• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

casting question ?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kevin beers

40 Cal.
Reaction score
Im wanting to start casting my own bullets.Can anybody tell me anything to get started,what not to do lol! how to do it lol !I understand you have to lube the mold before you pour your lead? What works best? Cheap alternative?do's and don'ts Im a rookie at this so I'm all ears and want to learn.Any help will be much appreciated !

One thing NOT to do is melt lead in the house. And don't stand directly over the melting pot either. Basically avoid lead fumes.

You have to get the mold hot before your pour the lead. There are differing ways to do this.

I lube my mold with paraffin just before I pour the lead. I'm sure others with more casting experience will add more details.

I do not lube my moulds other than at the index pins and sprue cutter. For that I use a little dialectic silicone grease and then I wipe off any visible grease. I don't have a lead furnace and do all of my casting in small steel pot with a metal handle. It is heated on a small propane burner salvaged from the warming plate of an old gas barbecue.