• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

db shotgun deer kill

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

silent sniper

40 Cal.
Reaction score
this story is from a couple years ago, but I just found the pic so I will post it. I had been hunting for a 6 years trying to get a deer but I had been unsuccessful every year. It was the the evening of the 1st day of ohio deer season and I had tole my dad that it will be another year that I wont get a deer (it is hard where I live to even see deer after the 1st day of gun season.) well we got in the stand and sat there for a little while. our neighbor came over to the stand and asked us if we wanted him to walk thru the swamp infront of the stand to try to spook up a deer or 2. as he turned came back around from walking thru the swamp my spirts dropped even lower. then all of a sudden a deer junped up. It stood there 50 yards infront of my nieghbor but the weeds were to high so he couldnt see it. I was getting ready to shoot when my dad said" thats to far you will never hit it" and I said o well I will try to scare it back to john(the neighbor). well there was a pretty big limb in between the deer and me. so I ignored the branch and shot anyway. When the smoke cleared I saw the fist thick branch splinter and fall from the bullet hole in it LOL LOL. well the deer was still standing there. john shot at it with his pump gun but yet it still stood there. So I cocked the right hammer,aimed the bead behind the doe's shoulder and pulled the trigger.BOOM as the sm