• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Expected accuracy

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

krecords

36 Cal.
Reaction score
Sorry in advance, you have all probably answered this question before but here goes.
Shooting a Lyman great plains rifle, 1 in 60 ? twist I do believe. Round ball. Open sight. what is realistic accuracy expectations if a person is a decent shot otherwise? Effective range? I am new to this and have heard stories of 50 yards to 200 yards accurate enough to kill a deer. Just curious what I should expect I can accomplish.

mahtosapanumpa said:
Sorry in advance, you have all probably answered this question before but here goes.
Shooting a Lyman great plains rifle, 1 in 60 ? twist I do believe. Round ball. Open sight. what is realistic accuracy expectations if a person is a decent shot otherwise? Effective range? I am new to this and have heard stories of 50 yards to 200 yards accurate enough to kill a deer. Just curious what I should expect I can accomplish.

I hunt in your "neck of the woods" and know the regulations you are under.
IF you are shooting a .54 100 yards is possible MAYBE out to 125-ish biggest limitations is the reality of accuracy useing open sights in REAL hunting situations (VS off of a rest at the range)
IF you are shooting a .50 then 100 yards would be my MAX! based on the proformability of a round ball and its balistics.
I am assumeing that you are useing round balls here VS Connicals.