• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

First Timer's First Day at the Range

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PostDriver

32 Cal.
Reaction score
Remember the first time you shot a muzzleloader? Maybe to bring back some memories, here’s my rather long-winded experience today.

Today was my first day at the range with my new rifle. I’m totally new to muzzleloading, and really appreciate all the information I’ve gathered on this site :hatsoff: . After considering the Lyman GPH and the Lyman Deerstalker, I ended up with a Cabela’s Hawken. I’m left handed and definitely wanted a percussion rifle in .54 with the left hand lock. I also attended a muzzleloader seminar at the Dallas Safari Club office where an experienced member gave a very nice introduction to shooting the front-loaders.

After picking up several items at a Cabela’s store in Fort Worth (bullets, patches, black power in FFg and FFFg, cleaning kit, starters, etc., etc.) and after adding some items to the rifle order via the net (sling, CO2 unloader, etc.) I couldn’t wait for its arrival. Fortunately, I had a trip to Alaska that filled the time required to receive the order. The trip was a black bear hunt; no bear, but some great hunting and fishing including silver salmon and topped it off with a 210# halibut!