• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Great-Grandpa's Shotgun

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

The Baron

45 Cal.
Reaction score
Hello All!

I am looking for any information about my Great-Grandfather's shotgun. The gun is a percussion SxS of about 11ga, with some choking. Barrels are Damasus twist (at least they look like it, but I'm no expert). The gun is clearly marked along the top rib as "J.PRATT 28 HANOVER STREET EDINBURGH". After that there is a large number "1" on the top of the rib. The side plates are both marked "J.Pratt" and nicely engraved. On the underside of the butt there is a strip of steel, and it is engraved with the number "238" (serial number, I presume?). There is also a silver button set under the butt, with "1837" faintly stamped on it. I assume this is the year it was made.

Internet searches show up nothing under J.Pratt. I understand there were probably many gun makers in Scotland at that time. ANY information on J.Pratt or the Scottish gun making industry at that time would be welcome!