• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

hawkens

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

muzzman

36 Cal.
Reaction score
Ok now Are traditional hawkens,cabela hawkens,and thomson center arms hawkens the same thing? ANd are they bad cheap quility guns?and also how do you get the instant greamlins at the bottom of ur screen to show up on here?

I'm really new to this myownself, so I'm probably not the best person to answer you query, but I'll do my pathetic best. As I understand it, Traditions, Cabela's, and Lyman plains-style rifles ("Hawkens"...same thing) are all Italian-made guns. TC's are American made. Some folks find the Traditions guns to have a lot of varience in quality consistency. That is, some people swear by them while others swear at them. The Lyman rifles are great guns according to virtually every post you'll read about them, and the Hawken sold under the Cabela's name is made by the same company, Investarms. The TC guns also have a sterling reputation as well as a great warranty. One thing to watch is the twist rate. Some are 1:48 (good for round ball and some of the lighter conicals) while others are in the 1:60 range (dedicated round-ballers). I believe I've got all my facts right, and if not, I know some of the more sage on this forum will set me right.

As to the graemlins, wait 'til you get to the "preview post" screen and go to the bottom. There will be the editable version of your message as well as the graemlins. :thumbsup:

Hope this helps.