• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Howdy from Iowa

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Well, I'm kind of an old fart, but I'm new to black powder. I did gunsmith work for years, so after cleaning other people's guns on a regular basis, I had no desire to use one that was going to require daily (when used) cleaning. I have been a traditional bowhunter for years, preferring longbows and recurves to those machines with training wheels that some call bows. I have nothing against those who use them; they are just not for me. I also fly fish and prefer flies I tie myself.

The simplicity of a traditional bow is probably what has finally drawn me into the world of traditional muzzle loading firearms. That and a TC Hawken kit I've had for about 25-30 years without taking it out of the box. I'm nearing completion of the kit now, so I'll be making smoke before long, assuming I can find primers and powder. :hmm: