• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

hunting with civil war repro

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BigCity

36 Cal.
Reaction score
Hi all,
I am new to muzzleloading, but not to hunting, having purchased an Enfield repro in .58 caliber to honor my GG Grandfather who served in 1st MD Light Artillery, US.
I want to deer hunt with it so I am looking for help in what amount of powder grain to use. I shoot FFg with minie balls. I have not seen any info on the use of repros for hunting yet.

pant,
I had the euroarms .58 enfield a couple of decades ago. I bought all my minnie balls and had no control over how thick the skirts were. The skirts were real thick and I found that if I used the musket charge of 60 grains of 2fg, the rascals didn't expand into the rifling and would keyhole at fifty yards. I had to use 90 grains to get the expansion and the accuracy. The replicas are pretty strong so I would be afraid of a real load, eg., ninety grs. 2fg or even a hundred. But do make sure of your particular gun before you do so.
God bless.
volatpluvia

Thanks for your reply. When I got the piece, my first shooting was with a skirmish group that was practicing. We were shooting 70 grains FFg at about 40 yards and it was doing well. Where I hunt, I shoot about 100 yards over an open field straight out or if to the left into a small copse of trees at about the same distance. How will I know how many grains to use? The company which sold me the rifle said to use 100 grains for hunting.

Musketman,