• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

I'm so confused (and I'm new here).

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wolfe28

32 Cal.
Reaction score
Hey there;

I'm not exactly new at this muzzleloading thing, but I am. I first shot a muzzloader about 17 years ago, but that was only once, and I just got a TC New Englander about 1.5 months ago. So I'm new to it (and having a great time, probably more fun than most of my conventional guns). The problem I am having is with the appropriate charge for my gun.

I have heard that you should start with a charge equal to the muzzle diameter (.50 cal = 50 grain charge) and then work up from there for the most accurate load that does what you want. So, after doing a lot of cleaning on the gun I bought for $50.00, I took it out to the range for some trigger time and load development. I started with a Hornady .490 round ball, a denim patch, TC Boar Butter for patch lube, 50 grains of Goex FFFG, and CCI #11 caps. The gun went boom, as expected, and man was I having fun; but a fairly scattered group at 25 yards. Upping the charge to 60 grains (an me settling down some, lets face it, I was excited). This gives me a 1 hole group at 25 yards, and I'm going to be taking this gun out further next time I go to the range.