• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Lead exposure

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Notremor

32 Cal.
Reaction score
I am new to BP and was wondering about the risk of lead exposure. Only information I found on the web were the two extremes, the shooting sports are all a huge toxic exposure and envirmentally unsound or wash your hands and all is safe. Anyone ever had their lead level checked. Thanks.. TLD.

I had my levels checked, but it was not for lead...
grin.gif
rolleyes.gif

WARNING: Casting bullets is dangerous. In addition to the dangers inherent in working with molten metal, lead is known to cause birth defects and cancer. Work outside or exhaust fumes to the outside. Wear safety goggles or glasses. Wash your hands before eating, drinking or smoking. Never allow liquids near casting area.

Molten lead is very hot.
Never, never, introduce water to the melted lead.
The water will flash immediately to steam with great force and violence, this includes drops of sweat from your forehead.

If you have never seen a teaspoon of water put into a pot of metal, you have missed one of the scarier sights in the world. The water "jumps" from the pot, carrying the molten metal with it. Keep your lead dry. Never drink around your casting area. Having liquids around molten metal is a great safety problem.

LEAD, A TOXIC METAL
Lead is very poisonous to human beings. Even tiny amounts of it in our blood, measured in millionths of grams (micrograms), can harm our health.