• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Loading shot in a rifle

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fowlmouth

32 Cal.
Reaction score
This may seem like a silly question to some, but I'll ask it anyway.

I am relatively new to traditional muzzleloaders. I have been wondering, what result would come from loading shot in a 45 cal. rifle for squirrel hunting?

Shot at a very patient squirrel in my misspent youth with a CVA kentucky .45 with #6 shot -SIX TIMES- and never disturbed his reverie! :shocked2: Found out later about the 'donut hole' effect rifling has on shot, and never loaded it in a rifle again. :td: A smoothbore .45 should make a fine close range squirrel/small game gun. George. P.S. Britsmoothy knows! :grin:

The rifling puts a spin on the shot column resulting in a hole in the pattern. If you don't put the shot in some sort of paper cup, then the shot can lead the rifling. If you use a paper cup and short ranges in the 10 to 15 yard range and know how the load patterns, it will be marginally effective.

I'm more curious than anything else. Some have told me that 45 is to much gun for tree rats.. I have looked for a smaller caliber gun, but they seem to be rare in my area.. It's not really in the budget right now anyway...