• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Loading the smoothbore

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

papellet

40 Cal.
Reaction score
I have been a muzzleloader shooter for years but I am new to smoothbores. Trying to figure out the right way to load the thing with shot. I am a bit confused as I see so many different methods available. What works for you? Where to get what I need on the web. Its a .62

Phil,
Tioga County, huh? Treat yourself to a trip down to Dixon's ML shop. He will set you up with eveything you need. He and Greg (his son) love to answer questions and will help you avoid things you don't need. And you get to see and touch the stuff in real time. Remember, you are simply building a shotshell, without the shell. It doesn't matter how modern or primitive your components, you are building a shotshell in your barrel.
God bless.
volatpluvia

Dixon's is the place to go for sure.
Also check some of the earlier posts in this forum, there's a few discussions about loading your smoothie.
Enjoy it!
When I want to have fun I'll shoot my rifle, when I want to get serious I'll shoot my smoothbore.
Kevin :hatsoff:

Phil said:
I have been a muzzleloader shooter for years but I am new to smoothbores. Trying to figure out the right way to load the thing with shot. I am a bit confused as I see so many different methods available. What works for you? Where to get what I need on the web. Its a .62

LOADINGSEQUENCE1.jpg

Hello, I am Matthew and I am a ML smoothbore addict...