• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Looking to buy a flintlock

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mikegalante

32 Cal.
Reaction score
Gentlemen,

I'm very new to this stuff but I'm interested in buying a flintlock. Can you please give me some pro's and con's about the different manufacturers and models that are out there? I don't own any muzzle loaders yet so this will be my first acquisition. I'd like to keep it and pass it along to one of my twin boys. Unfortunately, money is my problem as well as everyone else's. I'd like to spend no more than $350 max.

I'm familiar with the Thompson line but can you give me some info on the Lymans and others?

:master: :master: :master:

Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Bison

Bison,

Might check out the other post on buying a traditional production flintlock...

The TC is a good rifle for the money, if you are not interested in period correctness, that is what a lot of us started with. If you are interested in participating in reenactments or living history programs and could spend a few more $$ there may be other options. Custom rifles are a higher quality and look more perid correct than the TC, Lyman, and other "production" rifles. Perhaps look at some of the auction sites or gun shows and find a used one. Either way, welcome to the darkside, and hope your experiences will be as good as mine have been...

Ivery