• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Merriams vs. Easterns ???

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Skychief

69 Cal.
Reaction score
For those that have hunted both Merriams and Easterns, is one easier to fool than the other?

I have heard that one is easier to call (hunt) than the other, hence the question.

Thanks for your experiences, Skychief. :thumbsup:

I have limited experience with both. In fact, I've never killed any wild turkey. :haha:

But, I have chased both enough to know of some differences in behaviour. The biggest diff between merriams and eastern is their daily habits.

With Merriams there is no such thing as the regualrly used roost tree. They might use one for a couple nights in a row and may use others every couple of weeks, but that's as far as it goes. One reason for the irregular use of roost trees is their irregular daily habits. Merriams tend to travel long distances during the course of a day. They might fly down, travel a couple miles down mountain and then go up a whole different mountain or valley in the evening. The exception is the hens once they start to sit on their nests, but we don't hunt them in the spring.

Rio Grandes behave more like Easterns than Merriams.

Best analogy I can think of is that hunting Merriams is to hunting Easterns as hunting elk is to hunting whitetails.

This is a great timely topic. I'm hoping that some of our widely traveled hunters will chime in with their experiences. :thumbsup: