• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

New to Casting bullets

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Smokybob

36 Cl.
Reaction score
Well I am heading down that road, I bought myself a Lee melting pot, mallet, flux compound and a couple of molds to start casting .575 Mini's and .550 Pritchett's. The only problem is, i have no experience in casting lead bullets. Can anyone recommend a good resource, ie book or video for me to gain some knowledge? If this is in the wrong area, my apologies.

I cast minies for competition in the North South Skirmish Association. Regardless of what you may read here's the facts. Minies- cast hot and pour fast. Pot needs to be at about 850. Don't worry about lead "fumes". Lead doesn't phase change from liquid to gas till about 3000f and your put will never reach that. What fumes there are come from fluxing.

I have a lee bottom pour. I opened the spout to .098 (#40) to pour minis fast. Keep the heat up as stated around 800 - 850 and put the mold on top of pot as lead melts to preheat it. Soot the mold. i like everything hot enough it takes about 5 - 6 seconds for the sprue puddle to solidify. I use aluminum antisieze on the sprue plate.

https://castboolits.gunloads.com/
Everything you need to know is in these pages.

Not for minies. They're a world different from ball or regular conical.