• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

new used gun

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cooksomerice

32 Cal.
Reaction score
My second hand gun arrived at the house on Friday. I have not shot it yet and want to know what I need to do, if anything, before shooting it the first time. It seems well taken care of, but I am new to muzzleloading. Have never even held one in my hands until yesterday. Thanks.

Go to your library and get the Foxfire book no 5 that has the muzzle loading stuff in it.H.House makes a gun and shows what to do to shot it. That's What I did when I got my first one in 82. :thumbsup: Dilly

with any used gun, it is wise to make sure it is not loaded...use your ramrod to see if it goes all the way down, or stops high enough to permit a load to be present. Enjoy the gun..Hank

The gun is a Traditions 50 cal 1:48 twist. I am not sure what the previous owner did with the gun before storing it. I am thinking that I should wipe the barrel with a dry patch and maybe fire a cap or two before loading the first time. I am thinking about starting with 50 gr of FFg and will be shooting a .490 PRB. My nerves are up for the first shot. I do not want any accidents.

OK... I am a rookie so I am going to say percussion rifle. In my defense, I assumed that this was understood becuase of the forum being named "Percussion Rifles". Anyway, if more info is needed I will try to provide it.