• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

PRB for elk?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

happyhunter

36 Cal.
Reaction score
I have been hunting with a 50 cal TC Renegade for deer for a few years now and really enjoy it. I use .490" ball. I want to get a nice flint gun kit to build myself. The 50 cal is great for deer. But I would like to be able to use this gun for elk if I ever am fortunate enough to draw an elk tag.

PA game regs require a min weight of 210 grains and min caliber of 50. The .490" ball is too light. A .530" ball is heavy enough to make PA regs, but is it sufficient for elk or should I go to a .570" ball?? Would the .53 or .57 be overkill for deer? I guess I want multi use out of this... Is that a good idea?

Thanks for sharing your experience.

The .58 would be my choice. You can do lots of things with a 50 and a 58. I have couple .58 cal and want a .62. You will more than likely get a 54 in the future as the bug gets hold of you. You don't need a .58 for deer but I don't think it is over kill at all. Larry

I love my .58 on deer here. 90g 3F with a .024 deer tallow/bear oil lube patch and .570 ball is bad medicine on them. :grin:

The .54 will make weight and make meat. :) Have killed and seen killed many elk with the .54 prb at anywhere from 80 to 120 grains of ff or fff. But, a .58 would be a great gun too and gives you a little more space between calibers. IOW, it's more differenter. :) There is also the .62 to consider. None of them are "too big" for deer.