• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Range rod, starter, measure?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bonasa Umbellus

32 Cal.
Reaction score
Newbie here, gearing up. Anybody want to make some recommendations on the best (or worst) range rod, starter, or measure? I'll be shooting a percussion T/C white mountain carbine, 50 cal.

I kind of like the CVA lifetime range rod because it collapses into three pieces, and I could therefore put it into a dedicated BP shooting box. The ball starters look pretty self-explanatory. Anything to look for in powder measures?

Any and all advice most appreciated.

The power measures that have a little funnel or spout are nice. Makes it easier to pour without spilling. Mine has a spout that closes so it evens out amount of powder when it closes.

A complete novice here, but I agree on the measure -- I think mine might be traditions brand, but it's adjustable and the spout swivels across, leveling the powder charge.

I went with a T-handle short starter, and find myself wishing I had gotten the ball-handled one.

I can't speak to the range rod as I'm still using the plastic (euw) one that came with my rifle. When swabbing/cleaning, though, I find myself wishing the rod had some sort of handle on the end. I've thought about getting a "palm saver" for seating balls, but that doesn't help get a grip on the rod to pull it back out. Maybe I'm using too tight a patch for cleaning/swabbing!

-GB