• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Recomendations

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wheelockhunter

40 Cal.
Reaction score
I hoping to buy a(flint) pistol kit here in the next week or so, problem is I have no experience with this. I looked some up on dixe guns webpage and most of the reviews siad they have very little instruction included. Any recomendations for a beginner?

Wheelockhunter: Hope you didn't mind my moving your post, but I think you will get more answers over here than you would have on the Builders bench. :)

I would suggest you read the posts in the Flintlock section to get a good understanding of the care and feeding Flintlocks need.
If it were mine, I would make sure the vent was at least 1/16 inch in diameter and better yet, 5/64 in diameter. This will speed the ignition time.
Be sure and "pick" the vent hole before loading the pan.

As far as shooting them accurately, the biggest key to it is follow thru .
I can only speak for me, but concentrating on maintaining the sight picture after pulling the trigger is difficult to do, but it is imperative that it be done.
I must fight the urge to resist the recoil by tensing up.
I must fight being aware of little burning ashes falling on my hand and concentrate on the target.
I must be ready for a noticable delay in the guns firing and resist relaxing my arm or grip.

In general, I think that shooting a Flintlock accurately needs all of the things that make a good pistol shooter plus a few more, multiplied by two.