• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Removing The Butt Cap

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FFL

32 Cal.
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I am new to the muzzleloading forum and muzzleloaders as a whole so excuse me if I make any amateur mistakes. I recently acquired an original 1770 French Pocket Pistol at an auction. I have been restoring it and wanted to get underneath the handgrip to wax the wood and remove the rust from the metal beneath. The big problem is that there some sort of"nail" which secures the butt cap from the outside of the wood. I don't think it is original because it doesn't seem like good craftsmanship but I have seen it on other flintlocks. Any idea how to remove the "nail" and butt cap?

need a photo. Does it go all the way through?If its a pin it could be taped out from one side. If its a nail into the wood you might cause a lot of damage removing it

No it is definitely not a pin. I am pretty sure it is a nail. I am not going to tamper with it. Opposite of the nail there is already a broken piece of wood which is how I got to look inside. Thanks anyway.

This is just my opinion but if the gun is easily taken apart, there is nothing wrong with carefully cleaning a old original up.

If a 'nail' was used and removing it could damage the gun, just leave it alone.

I think of these things like they are a part of the guns history so even though they might be crude, they are worth saving.