• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Renegade Flinter Disassembly

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jimbo15563

40 Cal.
Reaction score
I want to clean the lock and trigger mechanisms in my Renegade flinter. I have never done it before. Is there anything I need to know about how to get it back together? Is it a simple or complicated process? Is there a trick to getting the springs, sear, etc. lined up?

Thx in advance.

Jimbo

I want to clean the lock and trigger mechanisms in my Renegade flinter. I have never done it before. Is there anything I need to know about how to get it back together? Is it a simple or complicated process? Is there a trick to getting the springs, sear, etc. lined up?
Thx in advance.
Jimbo

DISASSEMBLY OF A TC LOCK (both caplock and flintlock)

Remove the lock bolt and lock from the rifle;

Relax the hammer all the way forward;

Remove the mainspring;
I just use needle nose pliers to push the tip of the mainspring rod back against the coil spring so it'll clear the notch in the tumbler...and you might want to do the following:
a) wear a heavy leather glove in case the plier nose slips into your off hand :(;
b) somehow manage to enclose your work area in case the plier nose slips off the coil spring and it goes flying to gosh knows where :(;

Remove the bridle plate screws & plate;

DON'T LOSE THE LITTLE 'FLY' OUT OF THE TUMBLER;

Remove the sear, sear spring, and sear spring plunger;