• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Round ball and patch recommendations

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

slou92

32 Cal.
Reaction score
I just got a 45 cal Hawken and would like to work a charge up for it. I'm not new to muzzleloading but I am new to patched roundballs. Where do I start on ball / patch size?

Thanks,
Brian

I would start with a .440 ball and a .015 patch. If that is too tight, try a .010 patch. I prefer pilow ticking. For lube, I use Old Zip from Dizie Gun Works, or mink oil. I also make my own concotion of moose milk.

I too recently got a .45 Hawken (my first muzzleloader). I started off with .440 balls (Hornady), with T/C roundball patches. They seem to work well. I just got some of the T/C pillow ticking patches, and find them too tight.

You'll likely have to experiment with your particular barrel.

I, too just came into possesion of a .45 T/C hawken. I tried the same load I use for targets & squirrels in my CVA 45: A .440 ball, .010 patches cut square from a bolt of 100% cotton material called "homespun" I bought at the local fabric store, lubed with olive oil and pushed by 30 grains of 3f goex. I can start that combination by thumb presure. this load shoots one hole groups from the bench at 25 yards, and bumping the powder up to 45 grains I could still hold a 1-1/2 group offhand with that rifle. my new favorite!

Great, thanks guys.

Two questions...

How do I measure the material thickness

How tightly should the ball/patch fit the barrel?