• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Smooth cal .50

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jock scott

32 Cal.
Reaction score
Hello

I would like to have your opinion about hunting birds with a cal .50 smooth. Do you think it is reasonable ?

I am a beginner and I would like to find a "buck and ball" gun,but I am wondering what is the good caliber compromise.

Thanks for you help.

Jock

I wouldn't have any problem with hunting with one. Heck I even have a .50 smooth barrel up in the rafters. :v

Here in Bavaria we have many of these "Eichelhäher". They belong to the familiy of crowbirds. They have a grey and blue colour and cry like "keck, keck". You can bait them with corn and then shot them with shot. I use my original longgun smoothie with 90 grs WANO PP and 300grs 2.5mmshot.
They give a good soup(stew).

Regards

Kirrmeister

I have had smoothies in .54 thru.72 and have settled on the ,58 for my all around choice but I don't hunt waterfowl or turkeys, if you're going to do a lot of birdshooting a bore larger than .50 would probably be a better choice.

It would compare to a centerfire .410 shotgun.

The .62 (20 gauge) seems to be the popular choice. 12 gauge is also an option.

I agree with Jethro in that a larger caliber might be a better choice if you're looking for a small game rig that could also be loaded with a ball for larger game.

I'm sure a .50 will work if that's what you're sold on, but I think everything may be a little tougher.