• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

staining a stock?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BadHorse

45 Cal.
Reaction score
i have never worked with curly maple before, so i got questions. i know how i want my stock to look when finished i just need suggestions to achieve that. these pics show what i want. how do i get there?
aad-828_2.jpg

aaf-316_2.jpg

i really like the color and the way the curl stands out on the bottom one. help!

I took nitric acid and disolved #4 steelwool in it until it wouldn't disolve any more. DON'T BREATHE THE RED SMOKE!! then I added a bit of water and let it set for about a week. I made sure the wood was "in the white" and free from any grease or fingerprints. Gasline antifreeze works great. wet the wood with water...let dry...steelwool it off...wet it again and wool it off...keep doing it until the grain doesn't raise any more. I shook up the acid solution and SLATHERED it on...wear latex gloves. I made about 4 coats...wool it off between coats. Make sure you get it in the lock mortice and the patchbox wood. Then I beeswaxed it and linseed oiled it...get the stock hot and hand rub it. I oiled and waxed it 25 coats. Came out a really deep red. I used the same stuff on the barrel...browned nicely.