• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Stalking

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dianoga

Pilgrim
Reaction score
Hey everyone!

I'm brand new to the muzzleloading scene and am looking forward to my first ever deer hunting coming up this fall. I will be hunting from the ground and was wondering what people wore to minimize the amount of sound they made as they walked. I was looking for something that I could hunt in 40 degree weather and keep my feet dry. I will be hunting in the hills on 600 acres of private land.

Hard to beat wool at those temps.

For footwear, I want flexible soles so my feet can "feel" twigs and branches hidden under leaves and such, giving me a chance to pick another spot for my foot BEFORE I put my weight on it and snap the noisy little thing.

Perhaps the hardest thing to learn about stalking is pace. We inevitably make some noises while moving, and we move and sound just like humans trying to be sneaky. If you can learn to pace yourself like an animal, moving slowly with frequent long pauses, you'll sound more like an animal and cause lots less alarm.

Yea I was thinking about footwear and any thoughts on what type to look for/stay away from. Thanks!