• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Steaming Dents and Compression Marks Out

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
From Cody Wyoming, now lives in Oakwood Illinois
I know that this topic has been hashed out in the past but I'd like to bring it up again for myself as well as those who have never heard of such a thing!

I will admit that I've never tried it before? I also like to buy well used Muzzleloader's to refurbish for winter projects. In the past I would strip down the stocks and sand out any imperfections and then re-stain and finish.

Some of the stocks I refinished didn't look all that bad if it were not for those dents the compression marks.

Would like to hear again from those who have used the steam method to raise the dents and compression marks out?

I would also add that protecting the existing finish would be a big bonus!

Respectfully, Cowboy :thumbsup:

If they are just dents, no wood missing, I've had good luck with a wet rag and your wife's iron.

Very common practice in furniture building or refinishing. I have had good luck making sure there is no finish left in the low spot and then just a drop of water in the dent and then heat. This will often raise the offending spot and not the area around it as well. A damp press cloth to prevent scorching and a iron from Goodwill will work great.

I have forgotten how many hundreds of stocks and handguards I have sometimes steamed out dents for refinishing.