• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Thoughts on Jedediah Starr kits and more..

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello all,
I've got a buddy looking to get a Jedediah Starr Virginia rifle kit. Any thoughts on their quality or customer service? He wants to build an early style rifle and asked me for my thoughts. I'm no expert but I know there is plenty of knowledge in this forum.
His questions are:
What calibers would have been most common in the French & Indian war period through the Revolution? Is the Siler lock appropiate for this time period? Round-faced lock better? Smooth rifle or octagon-to-round, or swamped?
My own thoughts are Tulle, or smooth rifle, Jäger, colonial style rifle, round faced lock and .50 caliber to .62 but I bow to your collective expertise.
Thanks to all for their thoughts,
Snooterpup

More important are questions for your friend:
  • Who is he portraying?
  • Where does this person come from?
  • What ethnic background?
  • What social strata; indentured servant, escaped slave, landed gentry, independent tradesman, fur trader, farmer, soldier, sailor?
  • What education level? Can this person read, or sign his name?
A fusil de chasse de Tulle or St. Etienne made smoothbore is a fine choice if he's portraying a French Canadian, or Illinois French. A jäger rifle is great if the person is portraying some one who has a Swiss/German/Bohemian background....or from some other place in Europe having a rifle culture.