• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Traditions Crockett kit

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fallen Timbers

32 Cal.
Reaction score
Hello,
This is my first time posting on this topic. I enjoy percussion black powder rifles. I shoot a .50 cal. New Englander.
Here is my question. I'm considering purchasing a kit for the Traditions .32 cal. Crockett rifle. This would be my first kit. Has anyone ever put this kit together or another Traditions kit? I'm considering browning the barrel and lock? Would this be difficult? Is bluing a barrel difficult?
Thanks for any feedback.

The little .32 Crockett is a very good rifle. These kits are not so difficult that a home hobbyist can't do a good job.

I just helped the neighbor guy complete the traditions crocket kit its pretty much a screw together kit with some final finishing to make it look better and sanding, and of course the barrel and lock. His lock came case harden already but he didn't like the look so we took the lock apart and sand blasted it, the lock and barrel were browned in laurel mountain browning solution which is easy lightly coat the parts and let then sit, rinse, scale, reapply until you get the color you want, rinse and neutralize with baking soda heat with torch, oil and let sit and whip off oil and your done. Of course we each have a way we prefer doing it that's my style.