• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Traditions Kentucky

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ornrytexan

Pilgrim
Reaction score
Does anybody have any experience with the Traditions Kentucky flintlock? I'm kinda on a budget and this one really stood out. I hear a lot of people talk about the Lyman GPR but the finished rifle is outta my range and I don't trust myself to put a kit together since I'm just getting into BP, nor do I have the equipment necessery to do so.

I've considered the Lyman Deerstalker and Trade rifles, but I don't like the compromise twist rates. Roundballs seem more economical and "traditional."

I haven't seen to many posts or reviews about the Traditions rifles though so any input would be appreciated. Thank you.

the general consensus of traditions flinters are pretty low such as weak locks poor fit etc.
i might suggest you save some more money and purchase a better quality rifle like the gpr/or a thompson center fire storm.like someone said in a previous post.most any firle with a cap will go boom,flinters are more tempramental and have to be set up right to be reliable and ignite quickly
the slow lock times common with the lower end flinters have turned many away for that reason alone.
check the want ads and look around auction[url] arms.com[/url] as well as e-bay and gun brokers .com.we also have a classified section on this forum you may find a gpr within your price range.
good luck