• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Traditonal powder measures

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Doc Rogers

40 Cal.
Reaction score
As I am still learning about traditonal flinters and will be getting mine next summer (7 months and ocunting until it is finished), I am looking for a place to buy a tradional powder measure. I am planning onn reenacting a bit and would like to be as period correct as possible. I was reading "Pioneers" last night by Cooper and he mentioned Natty Bumpo using a "measure" to load his rifel with.

I am wondering where one can purchase a powder measure that would fit in the mid-1750's time frame?

Thanks for any info,
Doc

Powder measures varied and were limited only by the imagination of the frontiersman. Antler tips, sections of cane, cow horn tips, deer legs, turkey wing bones, wood, just about anything that could be found in the wild and was hollow or could be hollowed out will make a period powder measure. Store bought ones were available from traders, and many looked about like the ones we buy today.

If you google "antler tip powder measure", you will get a lot of hits on websites of craftsmen who will make you one, but part of the fun of muzzleloading is making one yourself.

LLC just about covered everything. Over the winter, try a few of his suggestions - I think you will be happy :thumbsup:

I carried brass measures that I bought from the gunshop for years.