• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

What contributes to the accuracy of a ML in it's constructio

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Doug Lykins

40 Cal.
Reaction score
I'm a novice in the building of MLs. I've assembled and finished a kit gun and refinished an existing gun. I do have a considerable amount of experience in the building of very accurate modern center fire rifles.
When we put a centerfire rifle together we start w/ a top quality barrel. I usually select a Hart, Shilen Match, or Douglas air-gage barrel. I have a machinest friend "blueprint" the action. That is to say the face of the action is squared to the bore, bolt face also squared to the bore, lugs milled and/or lapped to complete concentricity to the bore and action. We then lap the bore w/ diamond grit lapping paste to a mirror finish.
Whether a synthetic or wood stock is used the action is pillar bedded into the stock. Normally the barrel from about 1" in front of the action to the end of the forend is free-floated.
Along with well developed loads and doing my part at the bench, I have put together many sub- 1/2 minute rifles.
Okay, I know shooting muzzleloaders is a completely different game. We are not expecting to accomplish anything close to the same level of accuracy,
BUT, what do you experienced builders do to make your rifles as accurate as possible?

Well, in short,
Very much the same thing you do with the CF's.
Use top quality components and take the care to have all the components installed properly.