• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

What Patch Lube Do You Like?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ohio Joe

50 Cal.
Reaction score
What patch lube do you fine folks like??? I perfer a 50/50 mix of T/C 1000 Plus and Crisco Veg. Shortening. I can't tell the differance in performance and it's sure easier on the bank account. I've been using this blend for close to seven years now. :)

#13 or Wonder Lube for me...
Don't use Crisco, my shots always hit low...

Mayby thats because it's Shortening... :haha:

"Spit" fer shoots, and "bear-oil/bee's-wax" fer hunt'n!! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cool.gif

Natural Lube 1000 is all I've used for 15 years starting with an inline, then sidelock percussions, then flintlocks, with both Pyrodex and Goex. It's in prelubed wonder wads & prelubed patches, it's the lube on my maxi-hunters, and what I use to coat the bores after shooting and cleaning sessions. The stuff has been outstanding for me and eliminates any need to wipe between shots...

I've used Wonderlube 1000, Crisco, an experimental batch of beeswax and olive oil (can't tell the exact proportions,just kept mixing until it 'felt' right, and Bore Butter. Of them all, I like Bore Butter the best and use it to make my own prelubed patches with .018 pillow ticking from Wal-Mart.

Have used saliva, oilve oil, Old Zip, Blue & Grey, T/C #13, Crisco & various home-brewed mixtures of Crisco, mutton tallow and beeswax.