• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Which .54 Cal Conical Mold?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Swampthang

32 Cal.
Reaction score
I'm somewhat of a newb to muzzleloading though I've owned a couple for years I haven't shot either very much. So bear with me, I'm still learning.

I have 2 hawkens, both 54 cal. both 1/48 twist. One is a T/C, the other a Traditions.

Problem is, because of the popularity of inlines, the only muzzleloading projectiles readily available in my area are sabots . 54 cal has always been somewhat difficult to find anyway and now seems hit or miss at best. I could always order over the net but I'd rather have a local source.

Both rifles shoot the 425 gr Hornady quite well, the TC Maxi almost as well, the Ball-ett wouldn't group for me and I really couldn't get spectacular accuracy from a PRB.

I've learned a lot lurking on this forum, and plan to try some over powder wads with both PRB and conicals. The reason I'm asking about conicals is simply that I find them easier to load especially in the below freezing temps during muzzleloader season and I'll likely end up with a roundball mold anyway. Besides, there simply aren't that many different roundball designs to choose from.