• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

1860 Army

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

user 922

40 Cal.
Reaction score
I have an ASM 1860 Army that I've been shooting for about 10 years until the parts wore out. I actually hit a few things now and then, and it has become my favorite BP or modern handgun. It just feels right.

About a week ago I had the opportunity to purchase a Uberti 1860 Army. I was really pleased with the quality and can't wait to shoot it. One thing bothers me though and I was wondering if anyone else would agree or tell me that it's my imagination. The grips on the Uberti 1860 Army are wrong.

I pulled down my R. L. Wilson Colt book and noticed that the 1860 grips are slightly (but noticably) different than the Dragoons or Navy models. There is more of a reverse curve down the front (behind the trigger guard) and a slightly different shape at the back. I believe that ASM duplicated this shape but the Uberti grips look just like the Navy model.

The issue is more than aesthetic. The 1860 grips have a wonderful feel that is missing somewhat on the Uberti rendition. It's one of those unique things that make that pistol so nice to hold. It's amazing how well they applied ergonomics to that gun and ASM (in my opinion) did a better job in capturing that shape. Could it be that Uberti was doing a little "value engineering" and combined the Navy, Dragoon and 1860 grips thinking no one would notice. Or am I breathing too much sulphur.

Eric