• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

.45 CAL

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RUPPB

32 Cal.
Reaction score
Hello to all, I am a newbie to muzzleloading. I have been reading alot in the last two years or so... But my question to everyone is: how well would standard .45cal slugs (say from a 45/70) preform in a hawkins or kentucky style rifle? I had a .54 cal in the past, but never had the patience for it till now. i like the looks of those two rifles... opinions please?? thanks
brian

Either of those rifles with a 1:48 twist would work well with conical bullets. I would mic any bullet for a cartridge before using it in a muzzleloader. ML's are designed to take specific diameter bullets. You also need to consider weight and length of the bullet. One that is too heavy may create too much pressure in a particular barrel and one that is too long may not stableize well. There are plenty of commercially manufactured conical bullets available specifically for ML's. If you plan on hunting larger game with a .45 than conicals are the way to go. Balls would be suitable for coyotes, small pigs and woodchucks but light for deer. I've been wanting to get a .45 also, more for targets than anything else but it would be handy for coyotes and woodchucks.

Don

The .45/70 uses a bullet of .458 diameter, so it could be tough to seat in the average .45 caliber muzzleloader's barrel. There are plenty of muzzleloader specific bullets available so that is probably the way to go.