• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

50 cal question

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cooksomerice

32 Cal.
Reaction score
I am brand new to this game and ordered some stuff to get started. My question is this, I have .490 round balls and .010 patches, will I get a tight enough seal to not loose pressure around the ball. If so, can I use 2 patches per ball?

You will most likely be fine to start with. If it still takes firm pressure to seat the patched ball that is good. Check your patches when you shoot, if they have burnt through spots you will need a thicker patch.

123.DieselBenz said:
Try one, and look at the patch, and your target, then try two . . .

more than likely, you will want to try a .015 as .010's tend to cut easy and burn out.
every gun is different and my statement isnt gospel, but not far off the mark!

Each rifle is an individual. My .50 caliber CVA Hawken with a 28-inch barrel "likes" a .490 round ball with a 16/1000ths denim patch. Your rifle may not like it, but chances are it will perform better than either a 10/1000ths or a pair of 10/1000ths patches.

I haven't developed a load for my .50 caliber CVA Hawken Carbine with a 26-inch barrel yet.

A single 10/1000ths patch will probably be too thin and possibly not engage the rifling fully.

A pair of 10/1000ths patches (I.E., a 20/1000ths patch) will probably be too thick and making seating the patched ball down on the powder VERY difficult, if not impossible.