• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

50cal load data

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

B. Hennessy

32 Cal.
Reaction score
So i am new to muzzel loaders. I bought a used investarm hawkin style 50cal with a 1:48 twist the guy i bought it from said he uses .495 prb and 80g of 3f goex with a .018 pillow tick patch. Now here is the question everything i have read here so far talks about .490 prb with a .015 patch and 3f goex same with the bp load book i bought it only shows a .495 when its listing pirodex as the propelant and a .010 patch. I already have the .495 rb and he sent patches with the rifle are they safe to use with the data he provided or am i looking at trouble here?

No. The only trouble you might have is starting the patched ball into the muzzle.

In fact, the load you mentioned isn't unusual at all with some guns. It just makes a bit tighter patch/ball combination than a .490 diameter ball will give.

With this muzzleloading stuff it becomes obvious that each gun will have one ball/patch/powder load it really likes.
Usually, there is another load that comes close to matching its accuracy but there will be a bunch of combinations that, although quite safe, still give poor accuracy.

It's nice that the previous owner gave you his recommendations but if you try some other sized patch thicknesses, ball sizes and powder loads you may find one that works even better.

Besides, doing this gives you a good reason to have the fun of shooting it. :grin: