• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

58 cal sabots

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mmarke

32 Cal.
Reaction score
Hello All, Im new to muzzleloading and will take to the field this year for whitetail in NJ. I shoot the TC Big Bore, however Im having a difficult time finding 58 cal sobots. Hornady makes the 58 cal sabots but I have not seen any for sale locally or online for other than 50 and 54 cal. Can anyone help please?? Thanks

Hello All, Im new to muzzleloading and will take to the field this year for whitetail in NJ. I shoot the TC Big Bore, however Im having a difficult time finding 58 cal sobots. Hornady makes the 58 cal sabots but I have not seen any for sale locally or online for other than 50 and 54 cal. Can anyone help please?? Thanks

Just food for thought...a .58cal patched round ball (Hornady or Speer .570/278grns) is devastating on deer, extremely accurate, and has shot completely through every deer I've taken with it...the load I settled on is:

100grns Goex 2F (could use Pyrodex RS, etc)
Oxyoke wonderwad
.018" TC prelubed pillow ticking
Hornady (or Speer) .570/278grn balls

This load zeroed at 50yds only drops 3" at 100yds for me.

.58cal round balls are usually less expensive and easy to find or order from various suppliers too...so it's an alternative you might consider.

Welcome! :thumbsup:

True a 58 PRB will certainly do the trick on deer and also large game but, I'll try to answer your question.

www.midsouthshooterssupply.com